Breakfast at Mallory’s

It just so happens that I have thrown myself into my cult classics / cultism project headlong. Last night I went to see Breakfast at Tiffany’s at The Labia with my curly-haired companion, and we decided, whilst we were in the swing of things, to follow it up with a home-viewing of Natural Born Killers. How’s that for a mash up?

I am quite embarrassed to admit that I had never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s before, especially when I noted, during the opening credits, that Audrey Hepburn’s entire wardrobe was designed by Hubert de Givenchy himself, and that the score centers around Henry Mancini’s classic ‘Moon River’. If, like me, you are a Sex and the City fan, you will remember this song. It features in an episode where Big calls Carrie to tell her he is leaving New York. She responds, oh so romantically: ‘But you can’t leave New York. You are New York!’ They have a farewell party with a pizza and a bottle of wine in his old apartment, empty but for a record player. And they dance to Moon River and it is perfect. In any case, I adored Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and Givenchy’s costuming was just perfect. Of course Holly Golightly’s wardrobe is iconic, but the other characters are also beautifully dressed throughout. I am referring specifically to Varjak’s bitter ol’ sugar mommy, who wears the most unbelievable black cape-style coat with heavy gold bracelets. Each outfit is iconic in its own right – from colour, to silhouette, to texture.
A far cry from Juliette Lewis’ unhinged rock-hick look in Natural Born Killers, but I wasn’t exactly watching it for the fashion. I can’t believe I hadn’t watched it sooner – the crazed pastiche of styles, colours and references to myriad genres, stock characters and stereotypes – because it is brilliant. Mickey and Mallory’s bloodlust love affair really is touching, in all its brutal baseness. And the scenes where Mickey explains himself to Wayne Gale show Tarantino’s acute understanding of society and the media’s thirst for blood, stimulation, newness, feeling.
Next up: Captain Beefheart. The Fountainhead leers in the agtergrond.
2 responses to “Breakfast at Mallory’s

  1. Dude, another rad post!
    Have to say i doubt you’re going to “get” Captain Beefheart straight off the bat though. Maybe ease your way in with some early Tom Waits or Zappa? Just a thought.

    • You’re gonna hate this, by I’m already a non-Waits fan. Zappa I will take you up on though 🙂 And I do like a challenge Lancelot. So Beefheart, here I come!

Leave a Reply

