Valentine’s Day Competition L.O.V.E

I am proud to announce my first Pessimiss giveaway!

A selection of my most favourite and oft-used brands have generously sponsored the perfect lineup of prizes to make sure your Valentine’s Day is memorable (and cool). I’m a total romantic. People that dismiss Valentine’s Day as a commercial excuse to make money and be cynical better get outta my way. If you also love love, have a browse, read the competition rules, and enter!

The competition starts today and runs until Friday the 4th of February. Winners announced Monday the 7th of February.

 1st Prize – Big Love

1. One night’s stay at the epic Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park in Elgin.

I recently spent a weekend there, so I can tell you first hand that you’re guaranteed a fun-filled, super tranquil and beautiful stay. Stay in one of their selection of designer trailers, each one custom created by a team of South African artists and designers. Take a stroll down to the lake with a book, lounge by the pool with a G&T, take a drive out to Paul Cluver or Houwhoek, and be sure to make the most of Brinny Breezes, Old Mac Daddy’s laidback resident restaurant. Read more about it here.

2. Bestsellers courtesy of TWO Clothing.

The Double Dress & Pleated Scarf are two of my favourites, and I am nothing short of green with envy that I will be handing them over to one of you lovers on the 7th of February. TWO clothing is  feminine, flattering and such good quality, something that is sometimes a rarity in locally made clothing.

3. A bottle of Pierre Jourdan Cuvee Belle Rose and two champagne flutes, which you will sip with your significant other, wearing your TWO dress, overlooking the majestic Elgin countryside. The Belle Rose is as luscious as it sounds and you should celebrate Valentine’s day with nothing less.

4. A kilogram of coffee, ground before your very eyes, from Deluxe Coffeeworks.

This one is a little thorn in my side, because I am widely acknowledged to be a coffee snob second to none. Choose from Deluxe’s range of intoxicating, exotic blends and then let me know all about it. Or better yet, share it with me. Deluxe is my favourite spot for a shot of pure, black velveteen coffee bliss, great music and citybowl cool. They’re friendly, too (and they just got two mentions in the February issue of ELLE!) Find them here.

5. Dinner for two at Hudson’s Burger Joint

If you live in Cape Town and you haven’t had a Hudson’s burger accompanied by their famous Lagerita and Tone Loc’s Funky Cold Medina, then you better get on down to Kloof St. In Summer their outdoor section is open to the stars, and it’s a great people watching spot, too. Kick start your Valentine’s Day with my favourite, The Wise Guy (if you can handle your chilli) and a side of chilli poppers with relish.

6. A massage at Mooi Hair & Beauty Salon

Mooi rocks. Besides the stylish interiors, great location, and the fact that they give you a homemade cupcake and a mini plunger of good coffee (or wine!) with your haircut, they’re also really nice and they know their stuff. They’re the only salon I trust with my hair in Cape Town. And word on the street is that they do a mean massage, too. Iron out the post-work kinks with a pre-Valentine’s massage on Mooi!

7. Two movie tickets to The Labia Theatre

The Labia is a Cape Town classic. It’s also home to bi-monthly Saturday goods market You & Me & Everyone We Know, the Wavescape Surf Film festival and numerous other cool initiatives, not to mention the best in arthouse, foreign and mainstream film. Use your Valentine’s tickets for a good, old-fashioned date; popcorn, slushpuppies and a healthy dose of liquor.

8. Jewelry by Chloe Essery of Blackbird

Chloe’s trademark pendants and rings are much-loved by Capetonians. Inspired by local flora, old coins and beautiful fabrics, Chloe works sterling silver, resin and enamels into beautiful pieces that always inspire envy. I have wanted a Blackbird pendant for, well, years, and have actually twice bought my mom Blackbird pendants on special occasions.

9. A custom made fascinator by milliner, Crystal Birch

Crystal is a friend of mine, so maybe I’m biased, but this girl is going places. Her vision is colourful, psychedelic, inspired and infectious. I have personally worn one of her Flight headpieces and I felt like the coolest person in the room. Get your hands on a Crystal Birch something now, because one day she’s going to be Albertus Swanepoel’s right hand woman, and you’re gonna be the lucky owner of an original.

10. The Cat’s Meow – a vintage voucher to the value of R300.

The Cat’s Meow is my favourite vintage shop in Cape Town. Owned and run by mother/daughter team Barbara and Laura Meek, it is home to a carefully curated collection of envy-inducing vintage beauties. You can read more on my love for The Cat’s Meow here. In the meantime, get your entry in and you could be the lucky owner of a Cat’s Meow classic of your very own.

11. Two tickets to a Moonlit Movie screening

Run by my ingenious and resourceful friend, Devin Herd, the Moonlit Movie screenings take place beneath the stars at a top secret location in the city bowl bi-monthly. Flighting a selection of left-of-centre classics and iconic film, Devin and his team pull out all the stops to ensure that their exclusive, 60-seater screening pays homage to all the trappings of the classic cinematic experience. Details of the location to be shared with the lucky winner upon collection of prize.

2nd Prize – Baby Love

1. A hand crafted necklace by Megan Fogarty of Oh Dear, Megan

Megan is a fellow Knysnarian and creator of some of the most unusual pieces of locally made jewelry I’ve seen in a while. Get your hands on one of her pieces before she’s famous! Her time piece rings are my favourite.

2. A cut and blowdry at Mooi Hair & Beauty Salon

Refer to number 6 of Prize 1, where I cover all the reasons why Mooi is the bizness. If you haven’t made the important choice about who to entrust with your tresses, then this could be lifechanging for you.

3. The World’s Most Epic Valentine’s Day Compilation, compiled by music blogger/critic Lance James Daniels

What’s Valentine’s Day without music? Lance Daniels has excellent and eclectic taste in music, and he is my first choice when it comes to well-rounded and thoughtful compilations for any occasion. Get your V-Day groove on to Lance’s personal selection of the most romantic tracks in the world. [I cannot vouch for the inclusion of Barry White (or anything similar) in the compilation.] Lance is also lovingly creating custom made packaging for the compilation, because he’s a kick ass designer as well as a music aficionado. Get it while it’s hot!

4. Two sets of double movie tickets to The Labia

Enough said.

To enter:

1. Comment on this post and tell me which is your favourite prize and why.

2. Tweet or post the competition link to Facebook or another social network and let me know you’ve done it.

3. Subscribe to my RSS feed for an extra entry.

Old School Rules:

1. The competition runs from Monday 24 January to Friday 4 February 2011. Winner announced Monday 7 February 2011.

2. Only Cape Town residents may enter, unless you know someone in CT that can bring your prizes to you (if you live in JHB, PE, DBN or Parys).

3. Winner chosen randomly.

138 responses to “Valentine’s Day Competition L.O.V.E

  1. LOVE the 1st prizes….all of them – especially: the stay at the Old Mac Daddy in Elgin. I love the Old Mac Daddy, but I have not gotten to stay in one the trailers yet (just the Villa house) and would love to do that with my Boyf. I also really need a massage too – so would rock to win that as well.

    I follow you on twitter and you are in my blogroll 🙂
    Will be going to tweet this giveaway now.

    Holding thumbs that I win! Have a rad Monday.

  2. My ultimate prize would be the voucher for The Cat’s Meow. There is nothing more thrilling than owning a one of a kind vintage piece. And it would be added to a collection of special pieces that I hold very dear to my heart!

  3. what an awesome comp 🙂

    i would love to win prize Number 1 and take my fab man for a romantic weekend away and treat him to a memorable valentines day and our two year anniversary 🙂

    also love love Mooi and prize no 6 – its about time i cut off this mane

  4. Not sure if it is even possible to choose a favorite, but I am looking forward to the night’s stay at Old Mac Daddy, because I will need a break to prepare myself for the rest of the goodies. Might take a while to sink in 😉

    Tweeted the comp / follow your blog with Google Reader.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Valentine’s Day Competition L.O.V.E | The Pessimiss -- Topsy.com

  6. The massage or cut & blowdry from Mooi would have to be my favourite prize. Mooi is the such a hidden gem and I’m so pleased to have discovered it so that I can regularly indulge myself at the hands of the lovely ladies who work there. And everyone knows a girl can’t have too much pampering…

    I’m subscribed to the blog feed and here’s my tweet: http://twitter.com/julesdurrant/status/29473980377206784

  7. It has to be the night at the Old Mac Daddy trailor park in Elgin. It looks AMAZING and I’ve heard so much about it. I’m having a baby soon and think a night away with hubs, before the two of us become three, would be something to remember.

  8. They are all wonderful!

    But best of all – an Oh Dear, Megan piece.

    She is phenomenal.

  9. definitely the night at the Grand Daddy trailer park although I wouldn’t mind winning all of them 🙂 I loved your post about yours and Liv’s visit to the place and I could do with a night out of CT…

  10. AMAZING! i wish i was in Africa! 😦

    • Awww Che – we’ll have arrange a day of Deluxe, Mooi, Two, Hudson’s et al when you are back in the land of the volstruis en vleis! x

  11. Kilogram of Deluxe’s finest sounds pretty grande to me.

    Definitely my favourite coffee spot in town.

  12. The prizes are all amazing, especially the Two pieces and Crystal Birch fascinator, but my biggest weakness is good coffee, it’s pretty much my life force, so the Deluxe Coffeeworks prize is my ultimate prize from the bunch.
    Tweeting this giveaway now, this is too awesome.

  13. OH MY!!! What is NOT to love…but if I had to choose, I would def go with the stay at Old Mac Daddy…there is nothing more precious than some time out…except time out at such an awesome place I guess 🙂
    Will tweet and subscribe to feed asap!

  14. Pleated Scarf from TWO is amazing! A must have! So practical!! And how is that jungle themed trailer!!! OMG!
    This competition is already ons my FB wall! I really hope no one sees it, so there is less competition!
    GREAT prizes!!! Looking forward to my massage at MOOI, and wearing my Crystal Birch fascinator on my wedding day!

  15. Wow!!! that’s a lot of love! I love love 🙂 I think if I had to choose I would say the two tickets to the moonlit movie screening! It just sounds too romantic. What’s not to love about movies and moonlight?

  16. The greatest prize on this list has to be one night’s stay at the Old Mac Daddy. I say this for two reasons: firstly because its a caravan which is a hotel – I mean what more could you want from a hotel experience. Secondly its my 4 year anniversary on Valentine’s day, so this would totally be the best Valentines present ever – giving me unlimited browning points in the relationship game.

    P.S. I’m the first dude to comment, that has to mean something?

  17. so many prizes | so little time
    they are all lovely! my favorite is the stay at Old Mac Daddy. I designed one of the trailers, but haven’t had the opportunity to stay there and relax 😦 although i’d love a piece from Megan Fogarty, as well as a trinket from The Cat’s Meow.
    ::consider it tweeted::

  18. INSANE!!!!!! Thank you for making Monday a little more memorable! My favourite prize is the stay at Old Mac Daddy in Elgin because holidays (in a beautiful river setting) are great for the soul. I’m blogging about your competition!

    Best wishes,
    Thaya

  19. Wow I totally an intrigued by the top-secret screening. I would blog about all of these prizes till the end of my days and probably produce the most amazing and interesting content ever, all prizes are such fountains of creativity! I’m tweeting and subscribing to this awesome site NOW! Such a great idea!!

  20. Dear Kate

    Thank you for putting together what has to be one of the best competitions I’ve seen in a long, long while. All of the prizes are just heavenly. I’d be thrilled to win any one of them, but I have to say that Crystal Birch’s exquisite fascinators make me go ga ga. They are gorgeous (tweeted her blogspot) as well as followed you, tweeted about the competition and have you on my blogroll.

    Here is my tweet re comp and twitpic re Crystal Birch
    Absolutely loving http://www.crystalbirch.blogspot.com for her exquisite #fascinators, sexy, stylish and sooo pret http://twitpic.com/3sycjz

    Absolutely all you need to make you feel like you’re a real princess, the competition to beat all others @ the_pessimiss http://j.mp/h3acWj

  21. WOW how to choose??? Obviously a trip to The Old Mac Daddy will be epic, but I love the Labia theatre and and the moonlit movie screening. I love the theatre and movies… Also its a bit of culture that one doesnt always get to experience in Cape Town 🙂

    I am about to Tweet and Facebook this link… Cos It would be the best prize EVER!!!!

  22. This is a hard assignment, trying to choose a favourite. I could live of deluxe coffee; get overly excited for movies and markets at the labia; regularly indulge in shakes and burgers at Hudson’s on Kloo;, put that pleaded scarf from Two on my “buy after pay day list” just last week; can spend hours at the Cat’s Meow trying on dresses that I just dont know where I would wear them to and adore the decor and vibe of Mooi… but…

    like all the rest I would have to say the Mac Daddy Trailer park is nr 1 for me… What better way to go retro cool than in super luxuary designer trailers, in Elgin, with surroundings and activities to keep you busy for days…

    Oh, pick me, we can do with some romance in our lives:)

    ps. I have tweeted this (@quietriotgirl)

  23. wow wow wee-wow…
    GIVE ME THE COFFEE!!!! surely it is a MUST as i work in thee most boring industry, which could only possibly have been incepted to punish me for something in a previous life?
    or just cos i have a ring fetish and would be dazzled all day long if i had one of oh dear, meghan’s beauties on my finger…
    (and wow on you for giving these goodies away…not sure my bad self would have had the power to!)
    your post is being facebooked immediately xxx

    • The kilogram of Deluxe is proving to be a popular choice! Are we all deprived of decent coffee? I think a caffeine flashmob is in order; coffee cult?

  24. The kg of coffee looks best to me. I’ve finally come to the end of my ground espresso that I brought back from my trip to Siena last year, and I’m dying for a local substitute. This stuff looks pretty frikken yummy.
    [subscribed to RSS – done. posted link to comp on twitter – done (@michechelle)].

  25. Wow, what an awesome competition!! I would really like to win all the prizes, how to choose just one?!

    Shared this on my facebook profile too!

  26. I can only choose one? Seriously? It’s a hard decision to make but seeing as it’s Valentines day I’d have to choose something that my BF and I could both enjoy. Top of the list would have to be a stay at the Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park in Elgin. It’s one of those once in a life time experiences that neither of us would be able to forget. That would make an amazing Valentines day. Holding thumbs I win!

    I’ve just tweeted this and put it on facebook 🙂

  27. i think it has to be the massage at Mooi Hair & Beauty Salon for two.

    my hubby and i run our own business so this would be the perfect way to unwind and relax us! 🙂

  28. Oh me oh my….. what a competition and what a prize! At first glance, I thought that these where a whole bunch of individual prizes (lol, very typical a faux pax for me). So you can only imagine my utter glee when I realised that numbers 1 – 11 actually made up the ENTIRE prize!! Oh thank you so much- not that I have won anything – but for the mere thrill of imagining that there is somewhat of a chance that this could all be mine!! My fave of the lot- other than the Old Mac Daddy stay, gosh that place just reeks of radness – would have to be the massage at Mooi! For me there is no better way of making oneself feel special and pampered. Utter self indulgence for a single lass! With a prize like this, who needs a man on Valentine’s Day!

  29. The Big Love prize s definitely number 1… I’ve been to the other places like the Grand Daddy and would love to see the Old Mac Daddy trailers. I’d score some serious points too.

  30. I am a lover of (and believer in) the Big L.O.V.E – the messy, sometimes ugly, very real love that only you and your other can understand.
    So, as commercial as it is, we celebrate Valentine’s Day and put the cynics to shame.
    The prizes you have on offer are beyond generous and loving: they’re BLOW YOUR MIND amazing. Thank you!
    I have a soft spot for Chloe’s Blackbird designs- using old coins from her travels brings a sense of history- love to add to my small collection!
    As for the gorgeous trailer- my husband spent his childhood caravanning. I can not wrap my head around that. But, a beautiful and lush trailer may be just the thing for both of us to enjoy- love to surprise him with this.
    I follow you on Twitter, subscribe to your feed and just tweeted your link:
    “Stop what you’re doing, enter @the_pessimiss ‘s Mind Blowing L.O.V.E competition: it’s a compendium of prizes http://bit.ly/h3acWj #jackpot”
    Thanks again, and do visit me on the blog sometime: http://www.foodandthefabulous.com
    Best,
    Ishay

  31. I would love to stay at Mac Daddy, my husband and my Love language is Qaulity time and what better way to celebrate our 2nd Valentines day together.

    I shared your blog on Facebook and on Twitter.

    x.x.x.x

  32. I haven’t been this excited to enter a competition in a really long time. Fantastic prizes! All of them. But if I had to chose one, it would be a stay at the Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park in Elgin. I’ve been wanting to check out their very creative trailers for a while.

    I just tweeted this competition. I really think it’s great. Thanks Pessimiss.

  33. The massage at Mooi Hair & Beauty Salon really sound super nice. How many of us really have the opportunity to get a luxury treatment like this? I certainly don’t have the extra bucks to be this lucky. Actually any of the above mentioned prizes would be a wonderfull mind-blowing experience..

  34. O yes, I shared this with my fellow tweeters & facebook friends 🙂

  35. all these prizes are so amazing but a stay at the grand daddy would just make the perfect valentines day,and that’s without all the other prizes included. I have never had the pleasure of staying there but I have always driven past hoping to one day:) this is an awesome competition and I’ll definitely put it up on twitter. xx

  36. What a wonderful and special way to celebrate V-day!

    It’s so hard to choose just one, but ultimately it would have to be the ‘old mac daddy’ getaway’ to the lush valley of elgin – i don’t get out much at the moment…and that would be a wonderful way to ‘get away from it all’.

    And of coarse all the other goodies, would add much brightness to my day!

    love andie,x

  37. Dude this is awesome! Loving your blog and experience great joy when I get to tell people I know that love it too that “I know her”:) Well done!
    Oh and in line with the whole ‘competition’ vibe – love the Mooi haircut prize. As someone who is still in search of a good, reliable hairdresser that can deal with my curly mane and won’t cost 70% of my monthly salary, it would be cool to check them out. After reading your post about them though, I’ll try them even if I dont get the prize;)

    But again, congrats on an awesome blog.

    • Thanks Miss Gray – so flattered ❤ Mooi is die beste – fingers crossed you get to experience their magic for free! x

  38. for this i would go for the Old Mac Daddy cause I can enjoy with my awsome hubby and we love a good getaway…but then…I LOVE the vintage collectables…and would love to check out Mooi! this is an awsome competition…well done…will share with all! I hope i win!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  39. These prizes are awesome, but my fave has to be no. 1 . Who doesn’t love going away. I’ve been wanting to stay at this trailer park for a while now. (Ha, sounds weird!).

    Just tweeted and I subscribed to your RSS via BlogLovin.

  40. Dude, I’m going old school. Hamburgers! The cornerstone of any nutritious breakfast. and a 5 dollar Shake… Hudsons’ Rocks. i don’t care if I get fat as long as I can munch away on their Grubba dub dub!
    PS: Love the Blog. Very excentric.
    Love ME!! The Sooz

  41. Yes, Tweeted and Booked the face! check it out …..
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=619325309

  42. OHHH MY WORD! first prize pretty much sounds like the most legendary valentines day date ever! I think a night at the grandy daddy hotel would be the highlight! but FLIP. shopping, getting massages, watching cool old movies, eating hamburgers, drinking coffee.. This prize is too incredible for words!

    subscribed and tweeted! x x x *holding thumbs

  43. Hi there, I think my favourite thing is that double dress, just my style. Have facebooked this…pick me pick me!

  44. Oh Kate! Why do you taunt me so? My dream would be to own a piece of Megan Fogarty’s jewellery… 1) Because she’s my best friend and I love her… Isn’t that what Valentine’s day is all about? And 2) Because IT’S BLOODY BEAUTIFUL !!!

  45. I’d definitely go for #1 One night’s stay at the epic Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park in Elgin.

    It would be such an adventure and I love the idea of each place being individually themed!
    It’s an experience that would be so awesome to share and truly memorable!!!
    What’s more… I’m about to go read up on Old Mac Daddy’s trailer park…it’s definitely a place worth checking out – relaxing, fun and awesome!

  46. Coffee’s an aphrodisiac, right? Then I’d have to go with the kilo of the good stuff from Deluxe Coffeeworks. Me and my valentine would drink several cups in quick succession and spend the rest of the night, uh… talking.

  47. Prize no 6 sounds like absoulte *BLISS* for a girl like me who appreciates all things fun, indulgent and pampering 🙂 a massage would be heaven…especially after finishing my first month in the working world! aaaaaahhhh!

  48. I’ve never been to hudson’s so i think that sounds soo very cool and the grand daddy trailer sounds amazing !!! but all of the prizes are so great 🙂

    me win, me win, me win!!!! 🙂 pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease

    🙂
    Betty Bake

  49. Wow, what an incredible giveaway! So hard to choose a fave but I’ll have to go with Blackbird jewellery, I’ve been longing for one of Chloe’s necklaces for ages now!!

  50. Just tweeted too! (@lanaloustyle)

  51. I’m supposed to choose just one favourite??? Goodness. Everything sounds spectacular, but must say I’m quite partial to those unique looking fascinators!

  52. Woohooo!! What a stellar prize!! Oh, my brandnew hubby and I would LOVE a night at Old Mac Daddy and I would flippin love a little treat at Mooi (just to indulge afterwards at Hudsons!!). Oh my, I am holding thumbs! xx

  53. Oh wow, this is really just incredible! what a lineup!! My favourite has to be the massage at Mooi and the Old Mac Daddy Hotel! My new hubby and I are redoing the kitchen of our 100 year old house, and it’s a total torment! Walls falling down all over the place, bricks, dust, builders and mess everywhere – not the most romantic thing you’ve ever seen! Come Valentine’s Day, I’d hoped to make him something special in our new kitchen, but due date has been moved to March! This would make our Valentine’s Day just *that* much more special, if we get to enjoy a massage and a night away from all that noise!!

  54. My ideal Valentine’s Day-inspired prize would be the romantic and timeless hand crafted jewellery by local designer Megan Fogarty. I have been an avid fan of this Knysna-based ‘artist’ for several years and am inspired by the unusual and unique pieces in her growing collection. Winning a piece from her collection would be a fantastic Valentine’s treat 🙂 ❤

    I tweeted the link, see:
    http://twitter.com/Le1gh_Lo/favorites

  55. Pingback: Tweets that mention Valentine’s Day Competition L.O.V.E | The Pessimiss -- Topsy.com

  56. Yay I got internet before the competition ended…

    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=721315229

    • Oops forgot to say which prize I liked most… hmmmm hard choice love all the prize, but would have to go for the 1st prize Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park and since I love movies the Moonlit Movie screening. But they are all AWESOME prizes xx

  57. Torn between the trailers and a Crystal birch hair piece….Going with the hair piece! It’s just so pragtig! Just tweeted it

  58. amazing amazing amazing!

    I couldn’t possibly choose!

    Okay okay, the mooi hair cut – I need one (you said so yourself) 🙂

    Love you xxx

  59. It would have to be the massage at Mooi. Whenever I ask my hubby to rub my back he does it for about 1 minute and then says ‘there, how does that feel?’. Um, it feels as if you haven’t even started yet. After being together for 8 years long you can imagine how sore my back is 😉
    PS Have shared on Facebook

  60. This is a deliciously cool competition! So exciting!
    I do have to admit I’m not into the whole gift/card-giving stuff of Vallentine’s Day. But I do love to share special experiences with my man, something we can add to our repertoire of in-jokes and I-get-you glances. That’s why my favourite have to be the Moonlit Movie screening. The top secretness of it all is something we both will get such a kick out of.
    It’s on my Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=700151653

  61. The massage at Mooi is the best! (granted I could sip on the champagne afterwards too 😉 Been meaning to book myself in there for ages now, but one of those things – there’s never time to spoil yourself!
    Posted to facebook and twitter too 🙂

  62. i dig your blog! it’s really good. well done lady! all the prizes are awesome, but after seeing your photos from your road trip to elgin, i must say it’s by far my favourite . would be the schweetest valentines day ever!

    Twitter: With these prizes, #valentinesDay will be awesome for anyone -even the queen of singles club http://bit.ly/dRmGO6 @the_pessimiss

    Facebook: baie cool blog ladies + baie cool valentines day kompetisie https://pessimiss.wordpress.com/

  63. My ultimate treat would be the Moonlit Movies…I’ve been wanting to go to one of these ever since I moved to the City Bowl… it definitely sounds like the kind of thing I’d want to be doing on the most romantic day of the year!

    Yummy!

  64. Big L.O.V.E is the best! All the prizes are awesome, especially the Old Mac Daddy night’s stay + celebrating with champagne, spoiling my husband with a kilo of coffee, looking sexy in TWO clothing, being pampered with a massage, etc., etc.

    (Posted the link on FB already)

  65. Oh Kate – what amazing prizes…. but I think my best would be one of Crystal Birch’s fascinators…. that’s all I would wear for Valentine’s Day – would be quite a wow for my partner!! Who needs a caravan!!

  66. OH MY HARRY what amazing prizes! Would love, love, love to win the night’s stay at Old Mac Daddy for hubby and me, and the Deluxe coffee to remind us of the days after!
    Not to mention the TWO clothing items and Mooi massage….
    Really great prizes, thanks for the opportunity to enter!

    Posted to FB, tweeted too, on your RSS feed.

    Amped!

  67. love everything. want everything! but probably the old mac daddy night the most because i tried to go last year and it was booked for Months. but i’d take the coffee too. yummmm deluxe 🙂
    *posted to fbook and subscribed.

  68. 1kg of coffee! It would be like valentines day everyday being woken up with an amazing cup of coffee every morning.

    And would be even more romantic if this all kicked off with a night’s stay at the Mac Daddy in Elgin.

  69. Only just started reading your blog a couple of weeks ago and now I’m totally hooked! Absolutely fabulous prizes, I have to say after reading your post on Old Mac Daddy – I just about booked my tickets to CT for a weekend getaway there – so that definitely gets my vote! But as most of the posts are saying all the prizes are gorgeous!

    I’ve shared this link with all my friends on facebook too. X

  70. Wow, a couple days later and I still cannot believe these prizes. The grand prize is the ultimate jackpot – each individual aspect of that prize is a little piece of heaven in itself. Not to mention the Vday compilation by Lance Romance himself. Out of everything, I would have to say that the Moonlit Movie screening is my fav. There’s nothing more romantic than watching a movie under the stars. I’d love to win any of the prizes to share with my boyfriend who is one of those debbie downers who believes that Valentines Day is just a corporate holiday. I’d love to prove him wrong this year and ANY of the above treats would do the trick! Thanks SO much for the hope of having the Valentines Day of a lifetime 🙂

    PS – I’m posting to Facebook right now…

  71. Being a student,

    It would be absolutely amazing to spend the night at the movies and then romatically hand over my beautiful some lovely jewelry.

    The coffee is definitely not a valentines gift for my special girl, as stinky breath is not a good thing. But it would be a good way for me to wake up (before she does and then clean my mouth out). Coffee is yumm

  72. I would like to win the first price of One night’s stay at the epic Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park in Elgin. The main reason is that I am partially colour blind but that room is SOOO bight that even I can see that it is blue… or perhaps purple but man whatever colour it is it looks AWESOME!

  73. WOW! What a fabulous competition! To pick one of these amazing prizes would do every single other a disservice. To pick one is hard, but I keep coming back to the Moonlight Cinema. I know my fiance would love something fun, and secret and romantic like that. I would love to win any of these divine prizes and feel completly spoilt and spoil my man this Valentines Day. Thanks for such a wonderful competition!
    Posting to Twitter and Facebook! x

  74. A burger at Hudsons would be brilliant – My husband and I started dating 8 years ago, the first dinner/date he took me on was at the Spur – R14.95 burger special (Spur Burger, chips, onion rings and a beer); I was not allowed to order extra sauce…ah, the romantic ways of a struggling student!…..this would be a brilliant upgrade and tribute to a the long standing joke about our first date:)

    Posting the link on FB now.

  75. Dinner for two at Hudson’s Burger Joint
    Why? Because we’re both besotted over burgers! And nothing beats an eve alone with my hubby 😉
    posted to facebook

  76. Holy moly this is the most amazing blog competition I’ve ever come across! Although all the prizes look flippin amazing, my favourite would have to be the 1st. A night’s stay in an Old Mac Daddy trailer would be the perfect way to spend Valentine’s Day with my lovely boyfriend. I’ve tweeted the link here http://twitter.com/#!/nicolevelleman and I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed.

    YAY!
    x

  77. I would LOVE to win the massage at Mooi Hair and Beauty Salon, just because I just loooove massages and relaxing in a quiet, pretty place:) ALthough it is very hard to choose just one of these amazing prizes! Holding thumbs!! 🙂 🙂

  78. WOW WOW WOW!!! What amazing prizes! Definitely too many to say which is best! I would be happy to win any prize, but would def have to say prize one is my favourite with a massage at Mooi! No matter how much I hint to my boyfriend for a massage, I never end up with one 😦 So I would def keep this as my V day pressie and then share the rest with him 🙂

    I have shared on Facebook too and subscribed! Holding thumbs!

  79. Who of us has not wanted to spend a night in a trailer park …..??

  80. Two Clothing……that draw string vest is to die for.

  81. O please, o please pick me for Chloe’s jewelery. I love it so much and my husband never gets it right…
    Have subscribed etc too – LOVE the Dior post

  82. Woweee! All the prizes are so flippen amazing, but the stay at the Old Mac Daddy would be the cream on top of the (already very creamy?) cake. I just love the wallpaper in the trailer. I’d stare at it aaaall night looong. I retweeted this post (twitter name kristenduff) and added you to my RSS feed. x

  83. Wow, I think for me it would have to be the moonlit movie screening, I can’t thik of anything bette r than watching a movie under the stars ( don’t forget the pop corn!! A perfect way to spend a valentines night ( or any night ) …. here’s crossing my fingers and saying a little wish*

    Posted it on facebook too. x can’t post the link though ( but pinki promise I did : )

  84. Plus prize giving is right after my birthday …. can I just say the best b-day prezzie ever!! lol 🙂

  85. Moonlit Movie hands down, good ol’ fashioned under the stars style 🙂 And the coffee of course … as the the before, and after …. morning after 😉

  86. Tweeted the L.O.V.E & all over that RSS 😉

  87. the Mac Daddy prize is tops for me. My casual hinting to the better half for a stay at said trailer park must be put to an end. this competition is clearly the solution. It must be taken as a sign. i adore the Blackbird and Oh Dear, Megan pieces. they are simply dah-ling, and I’m a complete sucker for anything jewely/ tricket related. I love this competition, it is the bee’s knees of competitions. I will be passing on to facebook and twitter.
    .fin.

  88. A stay at the Old Mac Daddy would be my Big Love on this one. I’m new-ish to Cape Town and can’t think of anything better than getting my luxury trailer park on and knocking back *ahem* delicately sipping a glass of Pierre Jourdan. My office has a strict coffee culture, so I’d also score points for sharing the Deluxe 🙂 I’ve tweeted, Facebooked and RSSed my adoration/desperation to win.

  89. This is one of the most ridiculous competitions I have ever entered – I mean that in the best way possible!

    My favourite prize would be the Hudson’s dinner for two. I was only introduced to this amazing burger joint a couple of months ago and I have been hooked ever since. I live in Stellenbosch so a Hudson’s burger is a must whenever my friend, Megan, and I take a trip to Cape Town.

    If I win, I would take my friend Megan to Hudson’s. It would be my Valentine’s surprise to her as she won’t be seeing her boyfriend on the 14th of February this year.

    Either way, I cannot wait for the next Pessimiss competition!

  90. Yowzers! Unfortunately I’ll have to continue the trend of every other drooling competition entrant and say that it is so difficult to choose. The whole package is seeped in gorgeousness. My favourite would have to be the pampering at Mooi (but that’s only because I have to choose ONE!). I have no idea what RSS! Eeek!

    • Click the link at the top right of my blog that says ‘Follow moi’ and you will automatically receive my blog posts in your inbox every day 🙂 Yowzers indeed!

  91. The epic prize for me would definitely be at Old Mac Daddy. Hubby and I are married for just over a year, didn’t get much holiday last year (in fact I only got 2 days while he had none) and we’ve been working overtime since the start of the year – him coming home at 9pm everyday except weekends. We keep on saying we’ll book a weekend away but it never seems to happen because of work. So that said, I think in fact I know, we deserve that prize.

  92. Love your blog ! Read it all the time 🙂 and LOVE the prizes !!!!! would have to say my best would be the mooi massage !!!! Yay I wanna win 🙂

  93. Wow this is such a awesome competition..glad to have found old mac daddy’s luxuxy trailer park,looks amazing..will be going whether I win or not..really is unique!

  94. Elizabeth Strydom

    So… I am a new Townie! I am extremely exited to tart my adventure in the mother of all cities, Cape Town. Thus my favorite prize would be the stay at Old Mac Daddy Hotel. I have heard about this magical place for quite some time now and I would absolutely love the chance to spend the night and be inspired by a true capetonian jem. All the other prizes are sooo delicious and I must say it was very hard to choose. I espacially loved the Moi hampers and te jewelery pieces.

    Kate your blog is amazing! I all ready subscibed and posted this competition on my facebook page. I also enjoyed your vintage sale very much. Nice meeting you!

    Liz

  95. Wow! It would be hard to choose which prize I find the most awesome! What a selection! Sorry, no can do!

  96. Wow, this is such an insane competition! I would definately have to choose the Old Mac Daddy prize. My boyfriend and I do long distance, and I would love to take him there. It is the perfect getaway for a romantic weekend! It is so beautiful there ….you will forget about the busy lives you live and just appreciate each other!!!

  97. I just put the link on facebook!

  98. my favourite prize would be the night away so i could have some one on one time with my valentine…. my husband. there isn’t much of that these days with 2 small kids!

  99. have followed your rss feed 🙂

  100. The Cat’s Meow – a vintage voucher to the value of R300

    I saw the link on a facebook friend page and wow! I am impressed! Just added the blog to my toolbar and will keep an eye on this one. My birthday is on the 14th so I’m sure I’ll be spoiled rotten by my fiance but if I had to choose one of the listed prices it would be the cat’s meow.

    Link will be posted on my page shortly.

  101. Old Mac Daddy, what better way to spend Valentine’s Day but with your better half all loved up in this stunning one of a kind trailer!

  102. So desperate i just had to enter again! This comp is the Cat’s Meow! x

  103. Jenny Altschuler

    Hi, Wow, what an energetic and generous set of prizes all round. I love the promise of a massage, the stay at a trailer park in Elgin! and all the little fusses of prizes attached especially the rings.
    Your blog is so vibey and up feelings, very inspiring.
    THANKS!

  104. Jenny Altschuler

    Just posted on facebook on my homepage. 🙂

  105. Pingback: Loverrr | The Pessimiss

  106. A hand crafted necklace by Megan Fogarty sounds the best! I justlove things that are hard to come by! 🙂

  107. Posted it on Facebook! 😀

  108. love love love a prize.. and not going to be going for the big macdaddy. I would be totally over the moon with a haircut (as discussed at Hudsons yest) but I think even more so with the wardrobe addition of the spectacular Two garments. Happy days!!

    Still loving the blog, especially the latest, ‘New Critics’. Smart, interesting and flowingly well-written. Nice work missy.
    Be along soon to claim my dress and return you bits and pieces.

    Liefde XX

  109. I would love the Two tickets to a Moonlit Movie screening, my guy and me love to go to the movies together, snuggle and enjoy the classics, the idea of the location being a secret is thrilling and adventorous – all the things you need for a perfect Valentines date :).

    just posted you on facebook:)

  110. what amazing prizes….my favourite ones are the stay at Old Mac Daddy…I love the vibe of that place and would love to go there with my husband for some inspiration and love! the vintage gift voucher i love because I love vintage things….and the hair cut and Mooi, because I need a hair cut.haha… ah its all lovely!
    I have tweeted and facebooked about the competition and i’ve subscribe for your RSS feed via email 🙂

    xxx

  111. ooohhhhh they’re all amazing! I’d say bestest is the voucher for The Cats Meow – i’m a collector of vintage goodies but they’re usually quite pricey, so it’s always good to get some help 😉

  112. Oh my gosh! This is INSANE. How am I supposed to choose a favourite?! Impossible.

    But really, if I had to choose just one, it would have to be a cut and blowdry at Mooi Hair & Beauty Salon because I really need a trim and can’t resist a cupcake 🙂

  113. I would love for nothing more than to spend a night with my awesome husband at MacDaddy. We’ve been dying to go there since we saw a thing about it on some show. And the biggest reason is it would be so awesome to be with my hubs alone without our two gorgeous babas (i love them to bits but it would be nice to spend some alone time with my beloved.) I will post the link now. Love the competition.

  114. Samantha Brauns

    Kate, I absolutely love your blog and this competition is the best I’ve ever seen – what a treasure trove of prizes…and every one so incredibly special!! If I had to pic my favourite, it would have to be the night’s stay at the Old Mac Daddy luxury trailer park. Like you, I would drag my best friend along (who totally needs a break and some fresh air to clear her work addled brains) and where better to do this than in a stylish trailer park! Lol – this sounds like a total oxymoron – “stylish” and “trailer park” in the same sentence…but in this case the adjective and noun are a perfect match!
    I have posted the competition link to my facebook profile but am far too technologically inept (hey, everyone has their talents!) to figure out how to send you a link so will mail you a print preview a la Old school ;o)
    I also posted a pic of the gorgeous red shoes that I picked up at your sale and the gals are totally going wild over them!

    Kate, you are my vintage guru!
    Sam B..xxx

  115. An open love letter to my wife on her birthday today and all my love for an early Valentines Day

    We’ve been best friends since we were 15 years old, you’re my first and only love. I’ll never forget the evening you asked me to ‘go out’ with you on Valentines Day on a leap year a long, long time ago. It’s time I said thank you.

    People who don’t know us sometimes think we’re best friends, some have even called us brother and sister. You have and will always be my best friend, lover and the person I most enjoy being with.

    We have faced and fought life and love’s most difficult challenges and we’ve shared all the very best moments of my life together. We’ve raised a family, we’ve moved cities and countries and in times when we haven’t had a real home, you have always been my home, my roots, my anchor.

    For all the times I forgot, for all the times I didn’t say sorry or thank you, this is for you. Nobody deserves to be spoiled as much as you do.

    I love you.

    Your Bart

    P.S. Kate. A kg of coffee for 2 of coffee’s most devoted fans would be a real treat. Thank you for this competition and for giving me a platform to say what I sometimes can’t say in real life to the love of my life.

    • Awww man… a real life lover. I read somewhere that there are still few men that love with complete abandon. I actually don’t really believe that – I think they are all around, they just need to find their other halves. So cool that you have. A happy birthday to your wife from me, too!

      xxx

  116. Tweeted: @the_pessimiss an open love letter to my wife on her birthday today on entering your Valentines Day competition http://t.co/7rKvibN
    and posted to my wall on Face Book

  117. Redewaan WILLIAMS

    I have been drained by the 2010 worldcup now I just need a good happy prize ,I have been working non stop do all the volunteering. now I need a good prize. I would like to spoil my wife this special valentine day with one of your great prizes , favorite prize would be the stay at Old Mac Daddy Hotel, followed by , Mooi Hair & Beauty Salon,
    Megan Fogarty’s jewellery, TWO Clothing, Deluxe Coffeeworks.
    Thanx you running an amazing competition, welldone the outlay of the way you spread out this prizes is just great,your comment page I think you could upgrade more ,maybe with some colour . HOPE I WIN SOMETING THIS YEAR, because SPAIN took all the prizes in 2010.

  118. I am loving the idea of a Mooi makeover (including the cupcake and vino!) Holding thumbs it will be me! I have posted on Facebook too.

  119. my favorite prize would be a massage at Mooi salon so i could offer it to my valentine who has been complaining about getting one for months now, or a Megan Fogarty necklace, because one can never have too many nacklaces 😉
    (shared blog on facebook)
    xxx

  120. oooops, meant to type necklaces
    (hate typos)
    xxx

  121. Okay wow!!

    A list of Fabulous and delightful things

    My choice: The Old Macdaddy caravans!
    A night away with my husband for our first married valentines day 🙂

    Yay!

  122. And of course, I’ve reposted on facebook 🙂

  123. What a lovely thing to do for others….

    My hubby is the most fantastic man on the planet. We never had a honeymoon when we were married 5 years ago. I think a weekend at the Old Mac Daddy would just be fantastic… what would be even better, is going for a hair cut at Mooi, wearing a beautiful outfit from Two complete with facinator, looking amazing for my hubbie … drinking champaign… and spending a weekend in each others arms… thats my Bliss……

    🙂

  124. Sean Rice-Copping

    Old Mac Daddy baby …. Because we all need a bit of Trailer in our trashy Romantic novel of life and love …

    Keep shinning

Leave a Reply

