Inspirathon

My first night at fashion week was lots of fun – some good ol’ fashioned showboating around in high heels, girls on eachother’s arms (just ask Miss Kate Desmarais), media passes, jungle tunes, tons of colour and a whole lotta tweets.

Along with the rest of the wide-eyed crowd I watched Tart, Michelle Ludek, Habits and Abigail Betz – all staged oh so slickly by AFI, with bow tied ushers, edgy intro’s and what appeared to be some epic goodie bags (I didn’t crack the nod for front row just yet!)

Stand out trends were super primary brights across the board (I’m waiting for the muted Mod Squad to show up!), tempered with breezy monotones, stripes and polka dots. Pleats still proved to be big, as did the crop top, tail hem, the maxi and the palazzo. Abigail Betz sent a troop of ethereal white and black clad angels down the catwalk to the tune of Lamb’s Gabriel, with Victoriana detailing picked out in beading and sequins. Mooi.

Other highlights were Habits’ broadly striped palazzos paired with a sheer striped bondagey vest – my champagne-inspired tweet described it as ‘Beetlejuice meets Wednesday Addams at the seaside with Jack White on vocals’. Interesting indeed. I also loved Michelle Ludek’s intergalactic paint splash prints with metallic tinges.

I didn’t document my outfit because I was in a huge rush, but rest assured that I will do so tonight and tomorrow night. After taking in the crowds, my mind has sidled back on over to my heart of hearts – vintage. There really is no better way to look completely individual and special.

These pictures, while somewhat reflective of the fashion week trends thus far, are things I have been looking at and loving this week.

Images:

1. Scarf by Charlotte Linton (LOVE!), 2. Can’t find! 3. Erdem 4. Balenciaga by Style.com

 

2 responses to “Inspirathon

  1. So thrilled I came across your blog. Huge fan of vintage 🙂

  2. Awesome pictures. Especially love the striped one

Leave a Reply

