Madame Gres

Last night my friend Robin (or Miss Vyevano, as we like to call her, alternately) made my week.

She placed this vintage Madame Grès silk scarf in my hands and pushed me out the door with a nod. ‘You’ll wear it more than me,’ she said. Months ago she invited me round to peruse her insane collection of vintage silk scarves, and this one was the one that really took my breath away. When I say insane I mean insane. I mean mid-century Chanel, YSL, Hermes. I mean glorious colour, navy on white sailor girl restraint, sneak-in-in-the-middle-of-the-night kind of stuff.

Robin is Belgian, and her stylish grandmother has passed numerous vintage Bottega totes and squares of Chanel beauty down to her. Her style is truly classic. She always look refined. She’s the girl whose cardigan is no doubt cashmere, and whose artfully slung neck scarf makes you wish you could also make jeans and a tee look elegant. And she’s generous.

The deco-inspired line drawings all over this scarf are proof. The combination of brights with rust, peacock purple and black had me blinking at first glance.

I am working on an Icons post about Madame Grès for tomorrow so that you can understand the gravity and history behind this bright baby.

PS: Pics courtesy of my Blackberry first thing this morning. Not too shabby, huh?

3 responses to “Madame Gres

  1. It’s absolute chic! Love it so much!

  2. Robs is the most generous and kind friendling I know…. She also gave me a Grandma Vyvevano hand-me- down which I treasure: a beautous red swirl YSL silk scarf. Which I used during my Big ‘C’ days and I felt very chic going in for my routine hospital days!!
    Love you lots Robs,xxxx

  3. Madame Gres! If she were still alive she would make my wedding gown. DeLUSHious!

Leave a Reply

