Mara Hoffman Spring 2012

My friend Tori from Kiss, Blush & Tell posted this video on my Facebook wall, saying that the collection really reminded her of me. I must say I’m flattered that she knows my taste so well, because the delicate tribal prints, Mexicana undertones, icon-rich accessories and tropical palette had me gasping.

The collection, by New York designer Mara Hoffman, is made up of a paradise prance of lightweight long and short playsuits, altered kaftans and floaty wrap dresses. Hoffman’s show is another clear sign that our summer is going to be all about the prints and the accessories.

Shapes are easy-wearing flow shows (maxis, palazzos, tail-hem tees and maxi skirts), all elevated by print play (Aztec, broad stripes, demure polka dots and all out jungle fever) and bold accessories. I love how Hoffman paired matching footwear with playsuits – a kind of luxe, tropical take on the safari suit.

Hoffman is well known for her bright, printed swimwear, which I would post, if I wasn’t dreading the thought of thinking too hard about getting into a bikini just yet. Gimme two weeks.

Leave a Reply

