Charlotte Taylor

I’ve been dabbling with the idea of donning a turban for some time now – yes, I’m a self-confessed latecomer – and on my travels I discovered Lancashire designer Charlotte Taylor‘s eerily glamorous lookbook for her Autumn/Winter 2011 collection.

The weather in Cape Town is suitably morose at present, so I’m currently warming up with Charlotte’s eccentric print-on-print decadence. The way the images are shot and styled is almost as if this winsome model is the last member of some debauched dynasty, waiting out the storm in an abandoned mansion.

I love the use of irreverently bright animal and insect prints and the wanton glamour of the jools and embellishments paired with big eyes and solemn little lips.

Her 2010 Autumn/Winter collection also caught my eye – a brightly panelled mix of cheerleaderesque stripes, A-line skirts and exaggerated silhouettes.

3 responses to “Charlotte Taylor

  1. Love this post Kate! Great find! I am particularly fond of the little black dress with the almost tulip-shaped skirt… L.O.V.E.

  2. Middle Class Concerns

    I love head wraps! Perfect for a bad hair day.
    http://www.middlclassconcerns.blogspot.com

  3. I love the look of a turban, on an older, eccentric fashionista. Kate wait, I don’t think you’re quite ready to don one of these. You’re young and it might come across as just too weird (I know we’re not adverse to weird). In my mind, the turban is to the world of fashion, like the leather patched, tweed jacket is to the world of academia. You got to earn the right to cha, cha, cha into a room, cigaretto ablaze and fall onto a velvet chez lounge with Egyptian cats crawling all over the place. Stick to the velvet for now. That’s just what I think anyway… xxx

Leave a Reply

