Citrus Kitsch

This weekend I went to my neighbourhood flower seller to buy some blossoms in preparation for a dinner party, and was so taken with these citrus and pastel poppies that I came away with an armful of them.

The woman that sold them to me said that they are ‘cheerful’ but I actually think they are positively supernatural. And the mix of acid brights with muted, sherbety tones really sums up Summer 2011 for me.

I wish I could take these poppies and have them digitally printed, Mary Katrantzou-style, all over a full circle skirt with a tight little waist. Deeee-licious.


 

Leave a Reply

