Girl/Rock

With my favourite festival of the year, Rocking the Daisies, less than two weeks away, I got in touch with three of Cape Town’s coolest and most well-versed festival-goers to find out about their indispensible RTD items. From sneaker fetishes, to shooter records and hand sanitiser, Anthea, Tecla and Gabi are three music lovers that know their way around festival fashion.

MEET Anthea Knows Best Poulos, all-round cool girl, sneaker collectress and youth culture expert at Instant Grass. Miss Thang to you and to me.

What are your 5 festival fashion essentials?

1. Shades, to protect from the blinding sun over fields and water and obviously to mask the hangover.

2. A scarf, because it’s perfect for when it’s not too hot and not too cold, and for when it gets freezing at night, plus it helps us all look a little extra glam.

3. Sneakers. I know this is predictable coming from me, but the way I see it, your foot stays clean and dry and the sole is thick enough to protect from dodgy broken items on the ground. My personal festival choice is Vans, ’cause they’re durable and easy to clean.

4. A jacket. For the last two years I’ve taken varsity style baseball styles because they’re warm, they close and they keep you cosy without looking like a bit of a poshy wearing a trench coat at a festival.

5. One statement piece of jewelry, I’m a holiday jewelry kind of girl so I like to buy memorabilia jewelry from everywhere I go (festivals included). For the weekend I ditch the watch and rings but I choose a batch of bracelets or a chain that becomes my festival piece. As soon as I get there I buy one to remember the event by and add it to the collection.

Describe your musical taste.

My musical taste doesn’t have a category as such. I’m a major fan of 90s R’nB & hip-hop so you can usually find me “vaabing” to that, but otherwise I luuurve some good reggae & dub. I guess it’s hard to say, having grown up in Jozi I’ve also got a love for some good deep house.

Most excited to see at RTD 2011?

I’m less of a mainstage and more of a Red Bull stage type of girl so this year the highlights for me include Kid Fonque who I consider one of the best DJs SA has to offer, who Cape Town never sees enough of. Also excited for The Ruffest ’cause I’ve heard some really amazing things about them but never seen that before. Lastly Jon Savage & the Nomads because I know they’ve been working on something fresh and I can’t wait to see what it is!

Headline wish list – your top 3 headline acts of all time?

Portishead, Yellowman, The Smiths

Give yourself an RTD festival name for the purposes of this blog post.

Anthea ‘Posh Pants’ Poulos! I’m a very nose in the air type of festival goer for a couple of reasons, 1) I abhor a lack of cleanliness 2) Having grown up in the city I have a distinct lack of outdoorsy clothing 3) I like all my shoes and it makes me sad at the thought that they could get dirty 4) There’s not proper internet and the iPhone sits on Edge for 3 days which is pretty damn tragic as it means the Tumblr sits still!

<<Follow Anthea on Twitter>>

MEET Tecla Ciolfi, aka Texx and the City, Editor of Your LMG mag, rock ‘n roll devotee and lover of licks.

What are your 5 festival fashion essentials? 

5 pairs of sunglasses.

Describe your musical taste. 

My taste is pretty eclectic, but I’m a sucker for a catchy chorus and a stinging guitar riff.

I’m most excited to see if I can break my record of shooters consumed at RTD 2011.

Headline wish list – your top 3 headline acts of all time?

Alive – The Black Keys, Incubus and Lady Gaga. Dead – Jeff Buckley, The Doors, Amy Winehouse.

Give yourself an RTD festival name for the purposes of this blog post.

Tecla ‘The Italian Job’ Ciolfi

<<Follow Tecla on Twitter>>

MEET Gabi Goldberg, musical mover, Nutella eater, Muse fan.

What are your 5 festival fashion essentials?

1. Hand sanitiser

2. Sunglasses

3. Sunscreen

4. A tent and with it a person to help you set it up.

5. Alcohol

Describe your musical taste.

Anything and everything that strikes something within me, be it blues, electro, commercial pop to indie rock. I’m not fussy, really.

I’m most excited to see Civil Twilight at RTD 2011. They always put on a magnificent show and I have no doubt that Rocking the Daises will be any different.

Headline wish list – your top 3 headline acts of all time?

Muse. I’ve seen them once before and their live show is phenomenal! Florence and the Machine are also one of my favourite acts out there and I would love to one day see them live. Bon Iver, his music is simply magical and to see it live would be a privilege

Give yourself an RTD festival name for the purposes of this blog post.

Gabi ‘Goofy’ Goldberg

<<Follow Gabi on Twitter>>

Get your derriere out to Darling from 7 – 9 October and catch acts the likes of Band of Skulls, Tumi & The Volume, Lark, Gazelle, Felix Laband and Killer Robot.

Leave a Reply

