Glitter Feed

Lately I’ve been noticing tantalizing little splashes of glitter here and there: sparkle-encrusted heels and glimmering shades at Miu Miu Fall 2011, disco ball Jeffrey Campbell platforms on many of the well-shod, and glitter-gilded eyelids and nails at Jeremy Scott Fall 2011. Reams of glitter-spangled lurex also make an appearance in the video for Steed Lord’s If You Want Me, which, in my opinion, is the next big thing.

Signs like these have led to a sneaking suspicion that the trend will expand to include things other than accessories, and I’m really excited because I’m a lifelong disco devotee. The BeeGees, The Trampps, rollerskates, spangled short-shorts and bangs… It’s something about the underlying groove and the slinky sexiness of the 70’s – Saturday Night Fever John Travolta just does me in. And doesn’t glitter just go hand-in-hand with that era?

Glitter anklets with heels made a comeback a little while ago, and I even saw a really great pink pair with scalloped edges at Woolworths recently. The fact that glitter made a shimmering appearance at Miu Miu (ever the edgy) is most telling. The glitter-panelled mules look like a Confetti System collaboration (whom I wrote about here). And that makes me happy.

I’m also quite partial to Jeffrey Campbell’s fully-encrusted boots, which are like celestial disco darlings, lighting up the darkness on the dance floor. And these blue and red babies are like Red Riding Hood fetish shoes, and they also make me happy. One could only strut.

As far as glitter dusted eyes and lips go, they remind me of edgy, glamorous like Roisin Murphy and Alison Goldfrapp – always a good thing.

My trip to London will hopefully serve to confirm my glitter inkling. In the meantime, let your eyes alight on all these be-glittered glories.

One response to “Glitter Feed

  1. Love this post 🙂

Leave a comment